• The Arc
  • Posts
  • Technological Movements

Technological Movements

Bitcoin has not had its iPhone moment

You are receiving this email because you were previously subscribed to https://www.triananewsletter.com.

We have decided to move our opinionated Bitcoin content to this newsletter, The Arc.

If you were not a subscriber to Triana, you are receiving this email because you were a subscriber to my 2023 project, Tristan’s Types (https://tristantype.beehiiv.com).

The Arc is where my writing has been focused for 2024.

If you want to bring people with you on the voyage to hyperbitcoinization, please send them this newsletter and direct them to https://the-arc.beehiiv.com/subscribe so they can subscribe!

I was born in the year 1998.

I spent a large part of my childhood in a world without the iPhone. I remember being ecstatic to play a 2-bit game like Tennis or Pong on my Dad’s Nokia phone.

Technology was simpler in my youth but I can confidently say I have grown up experiencing numerous technologic movements.

I remember flip phones and slide phones, and when texting used to be an inefficient practice.

I also remember when the iPhone came out. A never-before-seen “smart” device with a revolutionary “touchscreen.”

Then everyone had one.

I remember the internet being a place where you found answers to your questions.

I also remember making a Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat profile.

Then the internet became an ever-growing system where you could connect with anyone in the world at any point in time.

I remember carrying all my notebooks and textbooks in my backpack to and from school.

I also remember when the iPad was released and the subsequent tablet revolution that followed.

Then in high school, almost everything was online and my backpack was much lighter.

I remember smart watches making an appearance on people’s wrists.

I also remember thinking I would never get one because I loved the appeal of a classic timepiece.

Then I got one and then I got another one specialized for running.

I remember wired headphones and semi-wireless headphones.

I also remember seeing AirPods for the first time and believing they were weird.

Then everyone got a pair—including myself.

I remember cable and satellite television.

I also remember sitting on the couch watching headline shows at 7 PM with my family.

Then Netflix introduced streaming and we could watch whatever we wanted whenever we wanted.

Better technology changes the world in ways discussions or beliefs cannot.

With discussions and beliefs, there will always be an opposing side.

With technology, there is only better or worse.

Looking back in history people who opposed the internet as a fad were wrong.

Looking back in history, Blackberry was wrong for not innovating to a touch screen and now Apple is one of the world’s largest companies.

Looking back in history, Blockbuster was destined to fail once their brick-and-mortar stores were no longer deemed essential thanks to the introduction of streaming.

Personally looking back in my life, there was a point in time when no one had iPhones.

Then I blinked.

And everyone had an iPhone.

Technological innovation produces clear winners and clear losers no matter the industry or product.

In a way, all of these movements occurred gradually, and then suddenly.

One moment the old guard was in charge and the newcomer was merely an idea.

In the next moment, the newcomer seemingly replaced all traces of the former.

In a way, all of these movements relate to Bitcoin.

All of these movements involve an established incumbent with a disruptive product or technology that aims to reshape their specific industry completely.

All of these movements show a clear transition of power followed by subsequent dominance in their respective fields.

Bitcoin is the disruptive technology that aims to dethrone the established systems of legacy finance and fiat currency. When this happens, Bitcoin will completely reshape the financial industry across the globe—for the better.

There are many naysayers, nonbelievers, and doubters of Bitcoin currently.

This is the same with any movement.

Remember, the internet was a fad.

Remember, people liked typing on their Blackberry keyboards.

Remember, people trust and believe in the US dollar and fiat currency everywhere.

What happens when this trust runs out?

Bitcoin has yet to have its iPhone moment.

That iconic moment of Steve Jobs on stage presenting his life’s greatest work.

That moment that changed the course of not only the cell phone industry but the path of technological innovation everywhere.

That moment has not happened yet for Bitcoin, but that moment is probably closer than we realize.

I am young enough to remember a time with no iPhones.

Now I see iPhones everywhere.

In the future, I will be able to say I was young enough to remember when Bitcoin was a sprouting movement.

In the future, I will also be able to say I helped the Bitcoin revolution usher in a new golden age for humanity.

Hopefully, so will you.

Stack SATs.

The views and opinions expressed here are for entertainment purposes only and should, in no way, be interpreted as financial or investment advice. Always conduct your own research when making an investment or trading decision, as each such move involves risk. The team members behind Triana are not financial advisors and do not claim to be qualified to convey information or advice that a registered financial advisor would convey to clients as guidance. Nothing contained in this e-mail/article constitutes, or shall be construed as, an offering of financial instruments, investment advice, or recommendations of an investment strategy. If you are seeking financial advice, find a professional who is right for you.